Product Picks {March 2013}

To start, let me just say how much I appreciate all the nice comments from my first post. I am really excited to get this blog off the ground and meet some new people (confession: I have probably been quietly blog stalking many of you for years!).

Moving abroad (ie, away from the states) has dramatically affected the way that I scrapbook now in a couple ways. Firstly, I almost never get to buy new products. When I do order things online, it is almost always the staples—protectors, binders, adhesives. Plus, even after all this time, I can’t stop comparing the price to what it would be if I bought it stateside. On sale. Ok, I am cheap.

Secondly, since I have moved entirely to the Project Life format, I really only buy digital products related to that. This allows me to avoid those pesky issues of price conversion and shipping, and I get it INSTANTLY. These are all good things, my friends. I thought I would share today some recent products I “received” that I am just itching to use. Though I typically do not mass print elements other than the PL core kit (process post coming soon!), these were just too great to pass up seeing in real life.  

1. See The World 

TSSR 13 3 22 1

***Sorry for the crappy photos. As all in the UK can testify, we have not seen the sun for days!***

Have you met my friend Laura Kate? If not, you should. She is not only rocking her own Seafoam version of PL, but she is making coordinating themed cards for holidays and events. Definitely check out some freebies here! More exciting, however, is that she recently launched a shop. Her first set—See The World—is travel themed, so you know I was all over that. In fact, there are two colorways, and though they both match Seafoam there is a very different feel to each. Plus, they have different quotes. The only reasonable solution was to get both. There is a ton of cards as well. Did you see the picture above? I can barely get them all in the photo, and I only printed one of each (for now)!

I took some close-ups too. I promise these photos do not do them justice. Sorry LK! I was just so excited to get going, I could not wait for sun!

TSSR 13 3 22 2

The Bold color pallet is going to be perfect for heritage travel. The old cities of Europe. Egypt of course. Can. Not. Wait.

TSSR 13 3 22 5

On the other hand, I think I may be a little bit in love with Bright. Bright blue and grey! Geotags and airplanes! Be still my heart! It makes me want to go to the beach. And take pictures of it. Just for the beautiful pages that could be had. I should point out that the globe card at the top comes on a white background—because I was printing both kits, I overlaid one on a grid card. Just to mix it up a little.

And just when you think it cannot get any better. It does. There are freebies.

TSSR 13 3 22 3

That’s right! These beauties just make the rest all the better. To get them, all you have to do is be Laura Kate’s friend too. Go on, like her! You will not regret it!

I hope you are not sick of seeing these amazing cards yet, because you will be seeing them again. A lot. I am more than a little obsessed. Moving on…

2. Quotes by Elise Blaha

TSSR 13 3 22 4

All last year, Elise Blaha included a quote a week in her PL. You may know that name, as she designed Seafoam. I do not actually know her. But I am pretty sure we would be friends. Anyway…at the end of the year, she made these available to all of us who had been drooling over them. For free. She is a saint. Go here.

There are 54 cards in total (27 4×6) and I just adore them. Since I bulk print photos anyway, I went ahead and printed all of them. They will easily find happy homes. If you look really close, you may notice that I also overlaid the quotes onto grid cards, like the globe card mentioned above. I normally really like how my journal and filler cards turn out when printed as normal photos, but sometimes when the background is too white they do look a little odd. That is usually when I put the grid underneath, to add a little texture.

So, there is a few new treats to keep you busy for the weekend. Please note that this blog is not sponsored. If I recommend something, it is because I love it. I have always been the kind of person to convince people that they should love something too. And I used to work in a scrapbook store. Customers loved me…husbands maybe not so much!

This entry was posted in Product Picks, Project Life. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Product Picks {March 2013}

  1. Laura Kate says:

    You are the bestest!

  2. pheeebzzz says:

    I love Elise’s quote cards too !
    Thanks for pointing to Laura Kate’s freebies, they’re awesome !

    • Meg says:

      No prob! It is a little odd to recommend products on my 2nd ever blog post, but I was so excited when they came in the mail yesterday 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    I agree Elise’s quote cards are wonderful, great post 🙂

  4. Megan G. says:

    OMG why are geotags so cute??!!? ;-). And I love the airport codes. I’m a SAHM and don’t travel anywhere but the 19 y.o.-study-abroad-me is drooling.
    Your blog is a delight to read. 🙂

    • Meg says:

      Thanks Megan! Geotags are such a simple shape, and yet they are freaking adorable. Great mystery of life! Glad you enjoy the blog-I am very excited about it.

  5. How do you cut these so nicely — I always think I would like the whole print and cut bit 🙂

    • Meg says:

      I have them professionally printed with the rest of my photos :). Then the 4×6 are already done, and I only have to cut the smaller ones in half. For that I use a tonic trimmer from the good old days of traditional scrapbooking. So basically….I cheat!

  6. Pingback: Project Life 2013 : April 1-14 | travelscrapsleeprepeat

  7. Pingback: Study Abroad Album: The Products | travelscrapsleeprepeat

Leave a Reply

