Cards and Project Life

If you took a poll, most people would tell you that the best thing about Project Life is that it is the perfect way to store memorabilia. I know I have certainly discussed it, only about all the time.

TSSR 13 25 4 6

When I originally posted this page (here), I mentioned that I would probably be adding another insert with my birthday cards. Since starting Project Life in 2011, I have added all my birthday and Christmas cards straight into my album, and I love that this really keeps all my memories together in one place.

TSSR 13 25 4 7

For 2013, I didn’t have a lot of cards, and they were all pretty big. Step one is always sitting down with all the cards in front of me to see what shapes and sizes I am working with. In this case, I thought the best (ok, the easiest) way would be a single Design E page. I pulled two pages of Amy Tangerine Sketchbook 12×12 papers that I thought matched the Seafoam kit to put behind the cards.

The other side of the page has another 4 cards in it. Though this page is quite heavily, it is not really adding bulk to the album, since all the cards are about the same size and flat. I am really trying to keep each year to one volume, so I make an effort to keep the inserts evenly distributed.

TSSR 13 25 4 4

In 2012, it took a couple more inserts to get them all in, but it is hard to be annoyed when too many love you :). The front page is a 6×12, cut down to the height of the card.

TSSR 13 25 4 5

The final pages are Design E and Design B, both cut down. Whenever possible, I like to cut the cards and sentiments so that they are all visible without taking them out. That way, I can easily enjoy them when I am flipping through.

TSSR 13 25 4 2

I warned you that I like repetition right? Welcome to Christmas. Though Becky Higgins famously claims that she is not the keeper of other peoples’ memories, I like keeping them around. 2012 needed a 6×8 pocket, half page from American Crafts, and a We R Memory Keepers square page.

TSSR 13 25 4 3

The square page is just perfect for this kind of thing. I have used pretty much the entire pack for cards of the past several years.

I know that cutting up cards and sticking them in pockets is not revolutionary. I haven’t even added a brush or a wood veneer! The simple process of including these cards does, however, make me really very happy. And I fully encourage people to do the little things that make them happy.

Happy weekend everyone. Go do something that makes you happy!

This entry was posted in Project Life, Project Life {2012}, Project Life {2013}. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cards and Project Life

  1. Pingback: Weekend Inspiration : Fill that cell! | travelscrapsleeprepeat

  2. Pingback: Project Life 2013 : May 6-12 | travelscrapsleeprepeat

Leave a Reply

