Project Life 2013 : May 6-12

TSSR 13 6 8 1

Though I have had this week done for a while I wasn’t planning to share it. The day I got my PhD was probably the best day of my life, but a lot of it is pretty personal and frankly, pretty boring for the rest of you. The more I looked at it, though, the more I thought people may want to see how I incorporated all the different elements.

TSSR 13 6 8 2

The left page is dedicated to my viva and telling that story. For such a big life event I only had a few photos, but I am really pleased with how it turned out.

TSSR 13 6 8 4

Ever since Kelly Purkey posted this picture on her blog, I have been dying to make this card. A banner in the middle of the card? Not on an edge? Mind. Blown. Love it. I made it early in the year and held onto it until I had the right place for it. The “Dr.” I added with quickutz letters.

TSSR 13 6 8 3 9

The right side page is a plethora of social media. I got so many lovely messages from people and I really wanted to save them in my PL. I really love how easy it is to incorporate these kinds of things right in with my photos.

(1) Email. (2) Facebook messages. (3) “instagram” photo. (4) Facebook status.

TSSR 13 6 8 8

I have mentioned before that I do not use instagram. This photo was emailed to me, but it totally could have been instagramed. Also, though I did this entirely digital, the same could be done with a print, a piece of cardstock, and a stamp. Old school? Totally cool.

TSSR 13 6 8 7

This is the facebook status that accompanied the above photo. My friend went around writing “Dr” on all the posters—it had to be commemorated. I think I mentioned before, but I design a facebook card at the beginning of the year and use the same one each time; lack of choice makes it much easier to get things done.

TSSR 13 6 8 10

I got a TON of facebook messages. It was actually kind of insane. I took loads of screen shots on Ken’s cell, so they were rectangular, and put two on a 4×6. There is actually several in each pocket and though they aren’t visible, I like knowing that they are there.

TSSR 13 6 8 6

Finally, I have a little pocket holding the tags to my new viva outfit. You need to dress for success and all that 🙂 The chevron paper is a scrap from Amy Tan’s Sketchbook collection, which I used for my birthday cards page and have been scattering through my album.

Want more information on Project Life? Check it out here.

I am linking this up at The Mom Creative.

Supplies used: Design A page protectors. Digital Seafoam core kit. Digital Seafoam cardstock. AE brushes: “I {heart} This” and “Love This“. CZ Instagram template freebie. Camera brush adapted from this freebie.

This entry was posted in Project Life {2013}. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

