Project Life 2017: April 17–23

This spread covers the week that mom came home from the hospital, so it is mostly house based with lots of little stories. I used lots and lots of white space to keep it from getting overwhelming  and I really like how it turned out. It feels very calm when flipping through the album.

The left side is Design A, but I used 3×4 cards in two of the larger pockets. Since those pockets had 4×6 photos on the reverse side, here I just taped them together on the back to keep them in place.

My love for these date stamps has been well documented, but I really think that using them with these half design cards may be my favorite. I have quite a large stack of them that I just never really had a use for and I am pretty excited to pull them out now.

The day that mom came home, Jayme hit her first ever homerun. We were so disappointed to miss it but I made sure to snap a picture of her with the ball when she got home. Since the look on her face pretty much sums it up I kept the journaling simple: the date and a caption. I was looking for a patterned paper to add to the top of the card and found this greige journal card in the PL Baseball theme kit. Instead of writing on it I used the subtle ball outline as an image. The dark blue label adds a pop of color to the card.

I really love the look of a simple black and white filler card, colored phrase sticker and puffy embellishment. It is crazy simple but looks so classic. Will definitely be repeating this formula.

The right side is a go-to Design F. The upper part pretty much tells the stories of Friday, when Jayme and I went to Milwaukee for the day. The bottom row holds several random stories. Still loving the white on white for titles on cards.

I am totally digging the light blue/dark blue/red combo. I think I have mentioned that I rarely use red hearts because it feels too cutesy for me, but I think it worked here. Another little cluster formula that can easily be adapted for any page.

So, last year I exchanged my Wisconsin driver’s license for a German one and it is their policy to retain all American licenses because some states require it. I was somewhat devastated at giving up my WI identification…we had been through a lot together! Wisconsin issued me a new card as a duel resident and when it arrived I tucked the temporary print into a pocket. The layer of white dot acetate not only makes the print out prettier, but it gave me a base to add the label to without having to adhere it directly to the license. Since I wrote quite a bit about giving up the card last year I went simple here.

The Products

Cards: As usual I started by pulling cards from the monthly Studio Calico set, in this case April 2017  (Written in the Stars).  The card with the small blue pot is from the Ali Edwards Eat Story Kit (digital). The card with the small houses and cars is a 12×12 paper I bought at Joann’s and cut down. The remaining cards were pulled from a bunch of PL kits: Midnight, Moments Like These, Currently, September Skies, and Baseball.

Stamps:  Elle’s Studio Date It and generic roller date stamp. Type font phrases from the Citrus Twist grab bag.

Other: Label freebies, tiny word stickers by Ali Edwards and generic puffy hearts from ebay.

I only have one more spread to share and I am back in chronological order! I also just received a large order of prints for June and July and have laid those out into eleven spreads. Can’t wait to get working on those and of course, sharing them here!

This entry was posted in Project Life, Project Life {2017}. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

